Hiking with God

I went hiking with my family yesterday. It was a beautiful day. Our destination was Mayflower Gulch in Summit County, CO. I was amazed how difficult it was to get seven people out the door. The teenagers were tired and not thrilled about going on a hike. The backpacks needed to be packed with sunscreen, water, band-aids for blisters, and jackets for a change in weather. And I’m glad my husband did not forget the mosquito spray!

Once we arrived, the mosquitoes were thick. But this did not deter us. We were prepared. The thunder was getting louder over the next mountain. But this did not deter us. We were prepared. The birds were singing sweet melodies, the water was rushing in the distance, and the butterflies were dancing on the wildflowers as if they were a welcoming committee.

My thoughts, opening to God’s presence with us, drew me to the butterflies dancing on the wildflowers. They flew from one bright flower to another, dancing with anticipation like a child on Christmas morning taking in the abundant gifts of love. I made a connection with the butterflies in a new way today. It was clear to me that these beautiful creatures had to prepare for the day. These butterflies must climb out of the cocoon to meet the day.

My thoughts about these butterflies led me to contemplate my relationship with God. I too must be prepared to meet God at the flowers or the leaves or the dirt in the bright sun or in the darkness of night. What’s most important about the preparation is that I actually get out of the cocoon. If I stay tucked away in my home, I miss opportunities to meet God in my life. If I had listened to the children who did not want to hike today, I would have missed this opportunity to learn something about my relationship with God. I must cross the threshold from the house and to get out into the world, into God’ presence choosing to allow God to transform my life.

Friends, may you see butterflies in a new way today!

Lil

1 Comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

One response to “Hiking with God

  1. (Gal 6:14 KJV) But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.

Leave a Reply

