Living with Brokenness

Psalm 147:1-3

1Praise the Lord!

How good it is to sing praises to our God;

for he is gracious, and a song of praise is fitting.

2The Lord builds up Jerusalem;

he gathers the outcasts of Israel.

3He heals the brokenhearted,

and binds up their wounds.

The Psalms were written as prayers to God; therefore, I find myself easily identifying with these texts.  These texts are real, holy, and written to address each one of us.

I am consistently drawn to pray Psalm 147, and I consistently stop and reflect after verse 3.  Why do I do this?  Because in my vulnerable state of brokenness, I see God there with me; God gathers me us.   I see my neighbors there with me; God has gathered them up.  Why is it in our brokenness we so easily see God?  For me, brokenness is being apart from God, not realizing God’s constant presence with me.  In the moment of realization that I am apart from God, broken away and outcast, I am consumed with the presence of God gathering me up.  And for very fact that God seeks me out, I sing praises at all times, broken or whole. 

And I can’t help but smile when I sing.  Singing makes me feel alive.  Singing is like a full body prayer to God, standing up, singing from the soul.  There is a quotation on the wall at Perkins in the call for choir members to the group Seminary Singers which says, “Those who sing pray twice.”   I am not a good singer, but this is not a prerequisite.  Everyone is invited to sing and pray twice.

I invite you to sing today.  And in your song of praise, allow yourself to be healed by the Spirit who will bind up your wounds, allowing you to let go of these wounds, place them at the feet of Jesus and be free. 

(If you, like me, are not choir material, you might try just singing the song in your heart!) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

