The Breaks in Life

I used to think of “breaks” in life to be really good things.  A break on a customer lead, a break from work, summer break, you get the picture.  This is until I broke my foot last weekend…a most unexpected break.  I have spent the last week scooting up stairs, hopping from counter to counter, and sending my family on treasure hunts about the house for things I have forgotten to bring along with me…my glasses, my cell phone, a glass of water.  My lesson this week has been allowing myself to depend on others.  I can’t say I have passed this one with flying colors. 

In my independent mode, it has been really difficult for me to do this.  Friends insist on bringing dinner.  My husband insists on driving me places (luckily it was my left foot!).  My path is just a mess because I can’t carry anything with me while I am on crutches (unless it fits in a small backpack).  First, let me not forget to say how thankful I am to all of you.  Second, let me say feeling dependent is not really my nature.  As a Mom, don’t we want our children to grow up and be independent, self-sufficient, moving on toward a life on their own? 

As I was reflecting on the week, I was drawn to Paul’s ministry.  Paul was quite dependent on those around him.  He had a scribe to write for him.  Church members nursed him.  Friends traveled for him to deliver messages to churches.  I wonder if this troubled Paul?  Did this make Paul less effective?

When I begin to get frustrated and a little testy about a predicament I am in…like this broken foot thing…I like to read Galatians.  Talk about being human.  It is so comforting to me that Paul gets frustrated with this church.

Galatians 3:1-4 NRS Galatians 3:1 ¶ You foolish Galatians! Who has bewitched you? It was before your eyes that Jesus Christ was publicly exhibited as crucified! 2 The only thing I want to learn from you is this: Did you receive the Spirit by doing the works of the law or by believing what you heard? 3 Are you so foolish? Having started with the Spirit, are you now ending with the flesh? 4 Did you experience so much for nothing? — if it really was for nothing.

Am I so foolish to be dependent on so many tasks that in the long run really don’t matter?  Visitors understand the mess.  I actually love it when I don’t have to cook.  My children really don’t mind running little errands for me.  You see this unexpected break has allowed me to expand my focus to things other than those daily tasks I get bogged down in.  This unexpected break has allowed me to let others accept me where I am even though I do not want to be there.  This unexpected break has allowed me to accept the love others want to give me.

Hmmm,  allowing myself to be loved.  Perhaps this is really the lesson I have learned this week.  It is really hard for Moms to sit back and be loved sometimes, because we are so used to doing it for everyone else.  As life is interrupted with little breaks like these, I encourage you to sit back and let others accept you in your broken state.  If you don’t learn anything from the experience, it was a lost opportunity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

