Are you thirsty?

stream On the last day of the festival, the great day, while Jesus was standing there, he cried out, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me, and let the one who believes in me drink. As the scripture has said, ‘Out of the believer’s heart shall flow rivers of living water.'”

-John 7:37-38 (NRSV)

I selected this picture of a stream, because this is how I feel right now, filled with the Spirit after a wonderful season of anticipating the birth of Christ and now filled with joy on this 11th day of Christmas.  But some day in the near future, I’m sure my stream will look something more like this…

stream-and-rocks

Some days it might be tough to find water there at all.  Part of me wants to create a water tank, so I will have my reserves when I need it.  But my past experience tells me this is not the way it works with God.  I need to share this water with my brothers and sisters in Christ, giving it away with a joyful heart, spreading the good news of the gospel.  For when my stream is dried up and my well is dry, I know in God’s faithfulness, someone will be there to share a stream of living water with me.

Don’t just sip water from your stream, drink heartily!  (Maybe even jump in and get soaking wet feeling the love of God drenching you.)  And on days you can’t find your stream, be open to recieving one from a friend.

May your thirst be quenched today as you know you are loved.


Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

