Starting the Journey Hungry

Ruth 1:6-7 [6] Then [Naomi] started to return with her daughters-in-law from the country of Moab, for she had heard in the country of Moab that YHWH has considered his people and given them food. [7] So she set out from the place where she had been living, she and her two daughters-in-law, and they went on their way to go back to the land of Judah.

 

The journey is beginning.

I am not hungry for food.

My physical needs of shelter and clothing are  more than ample.

I am healthy.

I am surrounded by friends.

My family is being well cared for back home. [They loved the King Ranch Chicken, by the way!!]

Yet, what is this hunger inside of me?  What will rise up and embrace me?  How will I respond?   Today I have been reflecting on the places God has met me in my hunger.  Although I cannot identify today what that hunger is, I am thankful for the hunger, and I know God will meet me in the midst of the hunger.  I am ready, less encumbered and more free.

What hunger do you notice today?  May God meet you in the midst of the hunger.  May you be open to God’s embrace.  May you see the gift in the hunger.

Thanks be to God!

 

Praying

It doesn’t have to be
the blue iris, it could be
weeds in a vacant lot, or a few
small stones; just
pay attention, then patch

a few words together and don’t try
to make them elaborate, this isn’t
a contest but the doorway

into thanks, and a silence in which
another voice may speak.

– Mary Oliver

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

