Freedom!!

Ruth 1:16-17 [16] But Ruth said, “Do not press me to leave you or to turn back from following you! Where you go, I will go; where you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God my God. [17] Where you die, I will die—there I will be buried. May the YHWH do thus and so to me, and more as well, if even death parts me from you!”

 

Freedom.  Ruth will not be bound by another.  She freely chooses to be with Naomi.  She is open to change and something new.  She demands change and something new.  Freedom.

Not just freedom, but spiritual freedom.  For we can so easily be free outwardly and bound inwardly.  Ruth says, “Don’t press me.  Let me follow.”  There is a multi-layered meaning of freedom Ruth displays here which is captured in spiritual freedom.

First is the freedom from something.  For Ruth it is freedom from the old way, the old god, the old culture.

Second is freedom in something. For Ruth this is freedom in the path.  Ruth says, “May YHWH do thus and so to me.”  It is a personal journey, a personal path.

Third is freedom to something.  For Ruth it is freedom to follow and obey YHWH.  Naomi is her model, but YHWH is the one she follows.

Freedom from bondage.  Freedom in discerning the path.  Freedom to obey God.

Trust that God is doing something new in your life.

What do you need to let go of to be able to hear what God is saying?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

