Puppy Love

Psalm 119: 1-8- The Message

1 You’re blessed when you stay on course, walking steadily on the road revealed by God. 2 You’re blessed when you follow his directions, doing your best to find him. 3 That’s right – you don’t go off on your own; you walk straight along the road he set. 4 You, God, prescribed the right way to live; now you expect us to live it. 5 Oh, that my steps might be steady, keeping to the course you set; 6 Then I’d never have any regrets in comparing my life with your counsel. 7 I thank you for speaking straight from your heart; I learn the pattern of your righteous ways. 8 I’m going to do what you tell me to do; don’t ever walk off and leave me.

 

I dare you…

to read these verses of Psalm 119 out loud…

to the picture of the puppy above.

Look into her eyes.

She so wants to please you.

She is eager to learn.

She does not want to make mistakes.

She knows how to sit…but to stay is just too much for her.

She is still a puppy.

Oh, but look at the love in those eyes!!

“Don’t leave me.” she says.   “If you stand right there, I can stay.”

Our intentions are great.  They are as great as puppy love.  But a puppy’s attention is intermittent just as we are intermittent with our attention to God.  Through God’s mercy we are forgiven when we lose our focus and turn away.  And through God’s grace we are met with loving eyes and open arms when we return.

Thanks be to God!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

