Country Stong-ly Diss-appointed

I have been waiting since December for my daughter to go with me to the movie Country Strong.  And as of February 10, I was still waiting.  If something better comes along, I wait.  Well, I got tired of waiting and went to see the movie this week while she attended one of the premier’s of the new Justin Bieber movie with her friends.  I must say, I AM SO THANKFUL I did not see the Country Strong movie with my daughter.  As a fan of Gwyneth Paltrow, I have been anticipating this day.

But now, having seen this movie…WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?!?  I am OUTRAGED at the negative messages about women in this movie.  (If you haven’t seen the movie and you want to, stop reading because I am about to give away the punch line.)  I have a teenage  daughter, and I fight for her everyday in the craziness of the messages she sees, and hears, and lives in the world.  But suicide as an end to a movie billed to be country STRONG?  This is insane.  This poor woman is controlled by her husband, for what?  A career that HE pushes?  She has no control over her life except to take it.  And this is a good thing?

I have a request of the film industry….QUIT MAKING MOVIES LIKE THIS.  Our daughters need your support, not your ratings.  There are so many teenage girls right now who want to be the next Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Kelly Pickler, the list goes on.  The movie set could have been one of their own sets.  Come on, people!  THINK!!

Hug your children today and let them know how much you love them.  Let them know how much God loves them.  Let them know abuse and violence and control are not love.  And if they ever find themselves in this situation, there are people and agencies AT THIS VERY MINUTE who have real love to offer.  In Texas, you can call 211 at any time to be connected to a health and human services agency that can help.  Teach your children that reaching out is STRONG!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

