NO ONE can serve two masters

Matthew 6: 24
No one can serve two masters;
for a slave will either hate the one and love the other,
or be devoted to the one and despise the other.
You cannot serve God and wealth.
Wow, is it still the Sermon on the Mount?  Yikes!
As if we haven’t been beat up enough over the past few Sundays realizing how incapable we are of being faithful to God.  NO ONE can serve two masters.  NO ONE, yes, that includes me.  NO ONE.
So what do I do with that?
Why should I try if it is impossible to attain?
Maybe I am asking the wrong questions here.
Maybe the most faithful question is, “How can I serve God today more than I served God yesterday?”  For if I cannot attain wholeness/completeness/perfection, I can grow in my intention to serve God.
Looking at this Homer Simpson cartoon with the classic angel/devil dilemna,  the angel is heard more than the devil.  My attention is turned toward God.
And when my attention is turned toward God, my service is turned toward God.
My presence is with God.
I am more complete and moving toward wholeness which is God’s desire for me.
Thanks be to God!
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Mom, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

