To speak or not to speak

John 4: 27-30

[27]Just then his disciples came.

They were astonished that he was speaking with a woman,

but no one said, “What do you want?”

or, “Why are you speaking
with her?”

[28]Then the woman left her water jar and went back to the city.
She said to the people,

[29]”Come and see a man who told me everything I have
ever done! He cannot be the Messiah, can he?”

[30]They left the city and were
on their way to him.

I wonder if this woman came to the city to tell me she thought she had seen the Messiah…would I follow her?  When I consider who might be the woman at the well today, I thought of someone like this woman pictured above.  Someone who is on the margins, hungry or thirsty…. I wonder if I would speak to her…

The woman at the well was alone.  She did not travel with the other women seeking water.  Yet, she wasn’t afraid to speak to a Jewish man at the well.  She did not hide anything from Jesus about her personal life.  When she realized who Jesus might be, she went quickly to tell the others.

What was it about the woman at the well that made the others in the city leave and go to Jesus?  Did they see something in her eyes?  Perhaps it was the tone of her voice.  Something stirred their faith.

I pray that today I will be  aware of those things stirring my faith, that I might not miss an opportunity to be with the Holy One.  And I pray the same for you.  If you do experience the Holy One today, you are welcome to post a comment and share with others where God is at work in your life.

Shalom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

