Greet yourself with love…

Maybe you should take another look in the present moment...

Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself. Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections, but instantly set about remedying them – every day begin the task anew.
– Saint Francis de Sales

Dreams are important.  Yes, one day I will grow up and be more wise.  But when looking in the mirror it is important to see reality, the beauty of who I am today… in this present moment.

It is also important to look into the mirror of the soul and see the reality of who I am  as a child of God.  This is how I have learned to have patience with myself.

First I name  something beautiful about myself.  I give thanks to God for that quality.

Next, I consider something that is imperfect.  I ask, how is God at work in this imperfection?  What can I do today to move toward God?

Check in with yourself. Is what I see what is true to be?

At the end of the day I reflect back to see what I notice about the day.  Some days I see growth in my imperfections.  Other days…well, the world won.  But guess what, friends!! Tomorrow is a new day, and I get to try all over again.  I hope to live into the picture of my authentic self, the one I greet in the mirror with love.  For if I can love and embrace myself, I can love and embrace my neighbor.

May you be blessed today as you greet yourself with love.


Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

