Take up the basin and the towel…

John 13: 1-17

After he had washed their feet, had put on his robe, and had returned to the table, he said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you? You call me Teacher and Lord–and you are right, for that is what I am. So if I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have set you an example, that you also should do as I have done to you. Very truly, I tell you, servants are not greater than their master, nor are messengers greater than the one who sent them. If you know these things, you are blessed if you do them.

It is Maundy Thursday.  And in John’s Gospel, our message is just this:

Day after day we must take up the basin and the towel.

Yet, as we do this to one another, one day the basin and the towel will be washing our own feet.  How many of you just cringed and said like Peter, “Not me, Lord!”

I know I did.

Because being served means I am not in control.  It means I am vulnerable.  It means I am… human.  And being served is not acceptable in a “superhero” world.  In fact, it is downright AWKWARD to be served because we don’t accept grace well.

So let me just say right now, GET OVER IT!   We don’t accept grace, it is a gift.  We see the giftedness much later when we have distance from the situation.  And it is at that point of acceptance we know we have been blessed with the gift of grace.  Do you remember saying any of these words:

“I don’t know what I would have done without you.”

“You really saved the day.”

“I didn’t know how depressed I was.  Thank you for just sitting with me.”

“Thanks for taking the keys.  I shouldn’t have been driving.”

Each moment as awkward as the next has been transformed into a glimpse of grace through the power of the Holy Spirit.

What words describe the grace you have been given?

Jesus said something like this: Do this to one another and you will be blessed if you do them.

Go forth to serve and to be served.

Peace be with you this Maundy Thursday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

