The tide is turning

Tide heart by Janice Hunter

Isaiah 50:4-9a

[4]   The Lord GOD has given me
the tongue of a teacher,
that I may know how to sustain
the weary with a word.
Morning by morning he wakens —
wakens my ear
to listen as those who are taught.
[5]   The Lord GOD has opened my ear,
and I was not rebellious,
I did not turn backward.
[6]   I gave my back to those who struck me,
and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard;
I did not hide my face
from insult and spitting.

[7]   The Lord GOD helps me;
therefore I have not been disgraced;
therefore I have set my face like flint,
and I know that I shall not be put to shame;
[8]        he who vindicates me is near.
Who will contend with me?
Let us stand up together.
Who are my adversaries?
Let them confront me.
[9]   It is the Lord GOD who helps me;
who will declare me guilty?

I get the distinct image of a turning tide when I read Isaiah 50.  It is an image that is my greatest hope for the world.  The hope that if we all hit less and listen more we will become stronger as a family, as a community, as a nation, as a people, as a world.

And as the turning tide is a metaphor, so is the hitting.  For we hit not just with our hands but with our words and with our eyes, with our apathy and with our greed.

With each choice we make to listen instead of hit, the tide will begin to change the canvas of violence to something new.  And as the Lord God paints a new picture in the sand, we watch as each stroke of the master painter reveals the truth for today.  Love one another as I have loved you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

