My peace I give to you…

John 14: 25-29

25“I have said these things to you while I am still with you. 26But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything, and remind you of all that I have said to you. 27Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid. 28You heard me say to you, ‘I am going away, and I am coming to you.’ If you loved me, you would rejoice that I am going to the Father, because the Father is greater than I. 29And now I have told you this before it occurs, so that when it does occur, you may believe.”

Pentecost.

One more promise.

Imagine hearing this for the first time.

It is a message of peace.

Jesus promises peace. Yet, the peace is not of this world.  It is a new kind of peace that cannot be seen.  It is given that we may believe that the risen Christ dwells with us in a new way.

It is an invitation.

An invitation to be open to the Advocate when the Spirit arrives.  Are you ready to put aside your doubt and fear?  Are you willing to be vulnerable to put aside the peace of this world to accept the peace of Christ through the Holy Spirit?

It is a different kind of peace, my friends.

It is a peace through which doubt and uncertainty coexist with belief and certainty.  Jesus does not say let go of doubt and fear.  He says put it aside.  For it is through the setting aside that the promise if fulfilled.  The “someone greater than I” pours peace into my heart that allows me to live confidently with doubt and uncertainty.

This is my prayer for you today.

Be open to the power of the Holy Spirit who will pour peace into your heart this day and every day.

Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cursillo, Devotion, faith, God, Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

