Searching for power…

Acts 1:6-8

6So when they had come together, they asked him, “Lord, is this the time when you will restore the kingdom to Israel?” 7He replied, “It is not for you to know the times or periods that the Father has set by his own authority. 8But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

When my third child was a toddler, he loved the move “Super Baby Geniuses”.  He went through a phase of wanting green food coloring in his apple juice so he could see the “power in the juice”.   (We jokingly called it “Hulk juice” until we realized… there is actually an alcoholic beverage called that!)  Anyway, I was reminded how much we learn visually in the world today.  Green juice = super power, of course!

Being on this side of the Resurrection, the Ascension, and Pentecost, Christians know the power of the Holy Spirit in the church.  Yet, there are days I want the simplicity of green juice = super power.  Since that isn’t true in my adult world, I imagine what my super power looks like from the inside out.  And beyond that, how will I interpret that into witness for Christ?

What I realize in my search is that the power is already within me.  The story doesn’t have to be great to share…just authentic.  Because the Holy Spirit will carry the story and gently place it in the right ears and on the right hearts.  Since I do not know the timing of God, I will simply plant the seed.

As you search for power today, may you encounter the power of gentleness within you.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Jesus, Ministry, Mom, Pastor, prayer, Presbyterian, Seminary Student, Spirit, Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

